I am pleased to present this review of Pintip Dunn’s new YA fiction Girl on the Verge. This post is part of a blog tour that also includes an exciting giveaway ending June 8th.  You may follow the tour and participate at other stops by clicking on this link: (http://xpressobooktours.com/2017/03/14/tour-sign-up-girl-on-the-verge-by-pintip-dunn/)

Please read my review below.
Book details:
Girl on the Verge
by Pintip Dunn
Published by: Kensington
Publication date: June 27th 2017
Genres: Thriller, Young Adult
Synopsis:

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

Purchase:
To participate in the giveaway, click here:
https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d04251231814/
AUTHOR BIO:

Pintip Dunn is a New York Times bestselling author of YA fiction. She graduated from Harvard University, magna cum laude, with an A.B. in English Literature and Language. She received her J.D. at Yale Law School, where she was an editor of the YALE LAW JOURNAL.

Pintip is represented by literary agent Beth Miller of Writers House. Her debut novel, FORGET TOMORROW, won the RWA RITA® for Best First Book. Her other novels include THE DARKEST LIE, REMEMBER YESTERDAY, and the novella BEFORE TOMORROW.

She lives with her husband and children in Maryland. You can learn more about Pintip and her books at www.pintipdunn.com

Author links:
My Review
4 stars

When a naive young girl meets a cunning, seasoned criminal, someone is bound to get hurt. In this case it is the innocent Thai-American girl, Kan who becomes the target of the diabolical antagonist, Shelly.

Kan’s desire to belong, her fragile relationship with her mother and her love for her grandmother drew me in from the beginning and made me want her story to have a happy ending. Girl On the Verge is a fast-paced, captivating novel perfectly suited to the YA audience. The attraction between Kan and Ethan, their first kiss and the first time they spent swinging on the swings like children are all things young adults can relate to. As well as the low self-esteem that both Kan and Shelly suffer from.

Pintip Dunn does a great job of getting into the heads of Kan and Shelly and describing their emotions in a way that help us get to know them intimately. The story focuses on things that are important to young readers – first love, fashion, friendship, sex and relationship with one’s family. Pintip sketches all of these elements in a believable and skillful manner, packed with action and suspense.

The book certainly held my attention, and even though I thought the ending was a bit drawn out, I think Pintip did a great job tying up all the loose ends.

My rating

I gave this book four stars, meaning that I enjoyed it, but a few little things kept me from giving it five stars.

  1. Typos – I saw a few, including this one: But is she capable of attempted murderer?
  2. POV slips, repetitions and moving body parts – my eyebrows climb my forehead – that weaken the writing.
  3. Pacing – I like that the story is fast paced, but the actions take place too rapidly with no break in between. That’s just my opinion.
  4. Some of Shelly’s actions in killing Ash and attempting to kill the others seemed a bit unrealistic to me.

Overall, I enjoyed the story and will recommend it to YA readers.

Please follow and like us:
0
Leave a Comment »